Does the family law industry profit from conflict? - part 6 of 8
What reduces harm: mediation, case management, education and self-help
Evidence published for review
Every source row behind this page is currently marked unverified: an automated check matched every quote and number to an archived copy of its source, and an independent review pass read every row, but the per-row human sign-off defined in the research methods has not been recorded yet. Check any claim against the sources list before relying on it.
Several alternatives to adversarial litigation have been tried. A few have randomized or controlled evaluations; most have small samples, self-evaluations or none at all. Fee caps and case-time limits have no evaluation in the evidence base.
Mediation
In a Virginia study of 71 families randomly assigned to mediate or litigate a custody dispute in 1983-1986, conflict fell in the following year for mediating parents and rose for litigating parents [Journal of Family Psychology, 2008-02, Participants HRM-004]. Twelve years later, nonresidential parents who had mediated were more involved and kept more contact with their children, "without increasing coparenting conflict" [J Consult Clin Psychol (abstract), 2001-04 HRM-005].
The same project found that whether a family mediated or litigated "did not predict long-term changes in conflict" [Journal of Family Psychology, 2008-02, Figure 2. HRM-004], and the sample is small, from one site, and from 1983-1986 [Journal of Family Psychology, 2008-02, Participants HRM-004].
Australia's evaluation of its 2006 reforms found that "About two-fifths of parents who used FDR reached agreement and did not proceed to court" [Australian Institute of Family Studies, 2009, Family dispute resolution HRM-015]. It also found family dispute resolution occurring in some cases with "significant concerns about violence and safety" [Australian Institute of Family Studies, 2009, Family dispute resolution HRM-015].
A two-week 2025 snapshot of 1,239 completed court custody mediations in 35 California courts recorded no agreement in 405 cases, full agreement in 290, a mediator recommendation in 245, partial agreement in 128, partial agreement with a recommendation in 108 and a temporary agreement in 27 [Judicial Council of California, 2025-12, PDF p. 1 HRM-017; Judicial Council of California, 2025-12, PDF p. 4 HRM-017]. Which outcomes are possible depends on the county's mediation model, so the counts are not a settlement rate [Judicial Council of California, 2025-12, PDF p. 1 HRM-017]. California requires separate sessions where there is a history or allegations of domestic violence [Judicial Council of California, 2025-12, PDF p. 3 HRM-017].
A federally funded 1990s survey of 136 court mediation programs found that 20 percent of administrators reported no screening for domestic violence [Center for Policy Research for NIJ, 1997-01, PDF p. 5 HRM-023; Center for Policy Research for NIJ, 1997-01, PDF p. 10 HRM-023].
A randomized trial of child-informed mediation found agreement rates comparable to standard mediation, with more parenting time for nonresidential parents in the agreements; its authors note that "little methodologically sound research has been done on the effectiveness of mediation" [Psychology, Public Policy, and Law, 2013, PDF p. 1 HRM-022].
Collaborative law and out-of-court models
A Canadian Department of Justice interview study found client satisfaction with collaborative family law "generally high", but "no clear evidence" from a controlled study that collaborative cases cost less than litigation [Department of Justice Canada, 2005, PDF p. 96 HRM-001; Department of Justice Canada, 2005, PDF p. 97 HRM-001].
A practitioner association's survey of 933 collaborative cases reported 86% completed with a settlement agreement and an average total professional cost of $24,185 [Intl. Academy of Collaborative Professionals, 2010-07, PDF p. 4 HRM-033]. The data were entered by the professionals who sell the service, with no comparison group [Intl. Academy of Collaborative Professionals, 2010-07, PDF p. 4 HRM-033].
IAALS's evaluation of its own Denver out-of-court divorce center (158 families) reports 175 to 229 days to permanent orders after an intake phase of about one month, and a lump-sum package that "started at $4,500 and increased to $6,500" [IAALS, 2019-05, PDF p. 7 CST-003]. The center reported that it was "ultimately unable to find an approach that proved economically sustainable" [IAALS, 2019-05, PDF p. 6 HRM-002].
That is a self-evaluation by the organization that ran the center, with no matched litigation comparison group [IAALS, 2019-05, PDF p. 7 CST-003; IAALS, 2019-05, PDF p. 6 HRM-002].
One family, one judge, and active case management
A federally funded study of three unified family courts (406 families, most with several kinds of open case, not divorce only) found possible benefits, including more frequent court monitoring "without lengthening the amount of time a case remains open", but the author says it "lacks a strong comparison group" [Center for Policy Research for NIJ, 2006-11, PDF p. 9 HRM-010; Center for Policy Research for NIJ, 2006-11, PDF p. 5 HRM-010].
In Colorado's proactive case-management pilots (2000 to 2002, 1489 pilot and control cases), cases resolved faster by an average of more than two months, but parties had roughly twice as many in-person court appearances and post-decree motions did not fall [IAALS, 2013-03, PDF p. 8 HRM-019].
Canada's evaluation of its unified family courts found that "some of the results do not show there were any differences in the outcomes" between unified and traditional courts, with some evidence of more efficient use of judicial time [Department of Justice Canada, 2009, Although some of the results are inconclusive... HRM-011].
Parent education
A 2011 meta-analysis of 19 controlled studies of court-affiliated parent education found a moderate positive effect (d = .39), and its authors flag important methodological limitations [Family Court Review (abstract), 2011, Abstract HRM-003].
A 2024 meta-analysis of 40 studies found a small overall effect of 0.24 that was "not maintained at follow-up" [Family Court Review (abstract), 2024-07, Educating for change: A meta HRM-009]. An Illinois follow-up found program parents "did not relitigate less often than parents in the control group", although higher-risk subgroups did [Family and Conciliation Courts Review, 1998-10, PDF p. 8 HRM-031; Family and Conciliation Courts Review, 1998-10, PDF p. 10 HRM-031]. That study was not randomized and its control group was 43 parents from another county [Family and Conciliation Courts Review, 1998-10, PDF p. 4 HRM-031].
Self-help centers, navigators and limited-scope help
California estimates that court self-help centers "avoid $3 to $5 in costs to public and the courts for each dollar the service costs" [Judicial Council of California, 2022-06, PDF p. 7 HRM-027]. The benefits are imputed from assumed time savings, not measured outcomes [Judicial Council of California, 2022-06, PDF p. 7 HRM-027].
A national scan of 23 nonlawyer navigator programs found that most "primarily gather records of service" rather than outcome data [Georgetown Law Justice Lab, 2019-06, PDF p. 5 HRM-029].
In a randomized study of eviction defendants (not a family case type), about two-thirds of those offered full representation kept their homes, against about one-third of those not offered it; most in both groups had first received limited help [Harvard Law Review, 2013, PDF p. 3 HRM-021].
Fee caps, time limits and simplified trials
Oregon's opt-in informal domestic relations trial was used in 40 Deschutes County trials from 2013 to 2015, but "A statistically valid evaluation, based on users to date, could not be accomplished" [Family Court Review, 2017-01, PDF p. 6 HRM-016].
Alabama's time standard aims for 90% of domestic relations matters to be concluded within 6 months of filing, 98% within 12 months and 100% within 18 months [Alabama Unified Judicial System, n.d., Rule Text HRM-025]. A 2026 Arizona Senate bill would cap fee awards at 15 percent of a party's disposable income or $8,000, whichever is greater, where there are no community assets; its enactment was not verified [Arizona Senate fact sheet, 2026-02-16, PDF p. 1 HRM-024].
No evaluation of a fee cap or a family-case time limit was found [Family Court Review, 2017-01, PDF p. 6 HRM-016; Arizona Senate fact sheet, 2026-02-16, PDF p. 1 HRM-024; Alabama Unified Judicial System, n.d., Rule Text HRM-025].
Sources for this section
0 of 182 rows in the evidence base have a recorded per-row sign-off. What the explainer does not claim.
-
Sample, method and reliability
Sample or method: n=158 families served by two iterations of a university-based and a community-based center in Denver; program evaluation (intake data, service records, parent surveys); 73.5 percent completed.
Reliability notes: Position, not a finding: evaluation by the organization that designed and ran the model (IAALS); same document as HRM-002. Self-selected, mostly college-educated clients; no matched litigation comparison group; the 283-day comparison figure comes from a different dataset (Landscape) and is not like-for-like. Fee package is a lump sum and may not cover separate court filing costs. The center closed in 2017, so its cost figures are not current market prices.
Pages quoted: pdf p.7; pdf p.12; pdf p.30. Claim tags: C2.1~ C2.2~
Cited in: What reduces harm: mediation, case management, education and self-help
HRM-001 The Emerging Phenomenon of Collaborative Family Law (CFL): A Qualitative Study of CFL Cases
Sample, method and reliability
Sample or method: Qualitative interviews with lawyers, clients and other collaborative professionals: 66 initial interviews at nine sites in the United States and Canada, then 150 interviews across 16 case studies at four sites; no control group; funded by a Canadian research council and the Department of Justice Canada.
Reliability notes: Government-commissioned independent study, not an outcome trial: small, practitioner-selected sample, and cost was not measured against a comparison group (the author says so). Published 2005; the Department states the views are the author's. Archived from the Department's PDF edition.
Pages quoted: pdf p.11; pdf p.97; pdf p.96. Claim tags: C6.2+ C6.2~
Cited in: What reduces harm: mediation, case management, education and self-help
-
Sample, method and reliability
Sample or method: Evaluation of 158 families served by one program (on-campus then community-based Center), Denver, Colorado, 2013-2017; scales measured over the course of the process; pre-post within-subjects design (questionnaire before services and after the permanent orders hearing, so completers only); no comparison group.
Reliability notes: Position, not a finding (self-evaluation; same document as CST-003). IAALS designed and operated the Center and wrote the evaluation (self-evaluation by a law-reform research institute, typed advocacy for that reason). Improvements are within-family change, not compared with litigated cases; the program closed. Useful mainly as evidence on feasibility and cost structure of out-of-court models.
Pages quoted: pdf p.6; pdf p.7; pdf p.29. Claim tags: C6.2~ C6.1~
Cited in: What reduces harm: mediation, case management, education and self-help
HRM-003 How Effective Are Court-Affiliated Divorcing Parents Education Programs? A Meta-Analytic Study
Sample, method and reliability
Sample or method: Meta-analysis of 19 studies with a court-affiliated program treatment group and a no-treatment control group (d = .39); five outcomes (co-parenting conflict, parent-child relationships, child well-being, parent well-being, relitigation; d = .19 to .61); countries and years not in the abstract.
Reliability notes: Abstract only. Follow-up length and reporters are not stated in the abstract; the authors state methodological limits. Superseded in scope by the 2024 meta-analysis in this set, which finds effects not maintained at follow-up.
Pages quoted: section: Abstract; section: Abstract. Claim tags: C6.5+ C6.5~
Cited in: What reduces harm: mediation, case management, education and self-help
-
Sample, method and reliability
Sample or method: 71 families who requested a custody hearing (35 randomly assigned to mediation, 36 to litigation), Central Virginia, 1983-1986; follow-up at 5 weeks, 13 months and about 12 years; 12-year sample 50 mothers and 43 fathers.
Reliability notes: Peer-reviewed, open full text. Small single-site sample with attrition over 12 years; couples-level statistical modelling; mediation limited to a few sessions. The short-term mediation advantage did not persist as a group difference in long-term conflict change.
Pages quoted: section: Participants; section: Figure 1.; section: Figure 2.. Claim tags: C6.1+ C6.1-
Cited in: What reduces harm: mediation, case management, education and self-help
-
Sample, method and reliability
Sample or method: Randomized assignment to mediation or litigation of contested custody disputes, followed 12 years after resolution; sample size not stated in the abstract (the same project's sample is described in the secondary analysis in this set); US.
Reliability notes: Abstract only (PubMed record, archived via Wayback; direct fetch returned only a stub). Single-site study of high-conflict, relatively young, low-income families (sample characteristics per HRM-004) from the 1980s; short problem-focused mediation; results may not transfer to today's court-connected mediation.
Pages quoted: section: top of page; section: top of page. Claim tags: C6.1+
Cited in: What reduces harm: mediation, case management, education and self-help
HRM-009 Educating for change: A meta-analysis of education programs for separating and divorcing parents
Sample, method and reliability
Sample or method: Meta-analysis: 40 studies, 103 treatment effects, overall weighted standardized mean difference 0.24 (CI 0.14, 0.34); follow-up effect 0.00; meta-regression of moderators; years and countries of included studies not stated in the abstract.
Reliability notes: Abstract only, taken from a vLex mirror of the open-access article. The follow-up confidence interval's lower bound is rendered with a non-ASCII glyph (probably a minus sign) in the archived text, so the interval is not quoted. Few studies measure follow-up.
Pages quoted: section: Educating for change: A meta; section: Educating for change: A meta. Claim tags: C6.5+ C6.5-
Cited in: What reduces harm: mediation, case management, education and self-help
-
Sample, method and reliability
Sample or method: Case-file review of 406 unified-family-court families (average 3.45 open cases each; 1,399 cases and 8,680 hearings in all) in Maricopa County (Arizona) and Deschutes and Jackson Counties (Oregon), with non-UFC comparison families at some sites; interviews with professionals.
Reliability notes: Primarily multi-case families (dependency, delinquency, criminal, domestic relations), not divorce-only; small samples; weak comparison groups (the author's own caveat). The report adds that UFC and non-UFC cases did not differ on continuances or time open and that increased hearings did not translate to better treatment-plan compliance (pdf p.6-7, not quoted here). NIJ grantee report; the document states it has not been published by the Department.
Pages quoted: pdf p.5; pdf p.5; pdf p.9. Claim tags: C6.3+ C6.3~
Cited in: What reduces harm: mediation, case management, education and self-help
HRM-011 Unified Family Court, Summative Evaluation: Conclusions and Lessons Learned
Sample, method and reliability
Sample or method: Summative evaluation comparing Canadian unified family court sites with traditional court sites (quasi-experimental in intent; case counts are on other pages of the report that were not archived); Canada.
Reliability notes: International comparator (Canada), not US. The year is inferred from the report's URL path; the archived conclusions page does not print a date. Government evaluation of a model begun decades earlier; the evaluators themselves call parts of the design inconclusive.
Pages quoted: section: Although some of the results are inconclusive due to design issues, there is some evidence to suggest that the Unified F; section: Assessing the impact of the UFCs against a more traditional model is challenging with respect to research design and imp. Claim tags: C6.3~ C6.3-
Cited in: What reduces harm: mediation, case management, education and self-help
-
Sample, method and reliability
Sample or method: Multi-source evaluation collecting data from some 28,000 people (parents, service staff, lawyers, judicial officers) plus administrative data and court files; Australia; 2006 reforms evaluated in 2009.
Reliability notes: Labelled international comparator: Australia's FDR-before-court requirement and Family Relationship Centres have no direct US equivalent. Archived via Wayback (original returned 403). Government-commissioned; before/after design with the limits the report itself discusses.
Pages quoted: section: Summary; section: Family dispute resolution; section: Family dispute resolution. Claim tags: C6.1+ C6.1~
Cited in: What reduces harm: mediation, case management, education and self-help
-
Sample, method and reliability
Sample or method: Pilot description and evaluation: 40 informal trials, June 2013-December 2015, Deschutes County Circuit Court, Oregon; evaluation by questionnaire conversations with three judges and three attorneys (March-April 2016); litigant survey abandoned for low response.
Reliability notes: Article written by court insiders describing their own pilot; the authors themselves say a statistically valid evaluation could not be done. Informal trials are a simplified procedure, not a fee cap or time limit. Archived via Wayback of the NCSC-hosted PDF.
Pages quoted: pdf p.6; pdf p.6; pdf p.6. Claim tags: C6.4~
Cited in: What reduces harm: mediation, case management, education and self-help,What the evidence cannot show
HRM-017 2025 Child Custody Mediation Outcomes Study: Quick Facts
Sample, method and reliability
Sample or method: Point-in-time survey of all completed custody mediation sessions in 35 superior courts during a two-week window (May 5-16, 2025), 1,239 cases, mediators reporting; courts represent over 80 percent of California family filings (per the report).
Reliability notes: State judiciary data, mandated study. Outcomes are model-specific (no-agreement exists only in non-recommending mediation; recommendations only in recommending counseling), so counts are not a single settlement rate and there is no litigation comparison group. Snapshot, mediator-reported. Chart labels and counts are interleaved in the PDF text; the assignment of 108 to partial-agreement-with-recommendation and 27 to temporary agreement is confirmed against the PDF layout.
Pages quoted: pdf p.1; pdf p.3; pdf p.4. Claim tags: C6.1~
Cited in: What reduces harm: mediation, case management, education and self-help
-
Sample, method and reliability
Sample or method: Retrospective analysis of court electronic records for five pilot programs in four Colorado courts, 2000-2002, pilot versus control group design, all 1489 pilot and control cases, with post-decree motions tracked about ten years; Colorado.
Reliability notes: Typed research institute: an IAALS (law-reform research center) report written by consultants; the study is an empirical analysis of state court records with pilot and control groups, one of the stronger designs in this area. Pilots were not identical and were small relative to statewide caseloads; not a randomized trial.
Pages quoted: pdf p.8; pdf p.8; pdf p.8. Claim tags: C6.3+ C6.3-
Cited in: What reduces harm: mediation, case management, education and self-help
-
Sample, method and reliability
Sample or method: Randomized study in a Massachusetts district court housing session: treated group N = 76 (offered full attorney representation after unbundled how-to help), control group N = 53, both groups mostly receiving unbundled help first [derived: 76 + 53 = 129 occupants; the source states 129 observations on pdf p.20, one treated case excluded from outcome calculations]; eviction defendants, not family law.
Reliability notes: Labelled non-family comparator: it is evidence about the limits of unbundled assistance in eviction cases, not about limited-scope family-law engagements. Clientele was selected by the legal aid provider's outreach and intake, so results may not generalise. No US randomized evidence on unbundled family-law services was found. Third-party copy of the Harvard Law Review article hosted in Connecticut task-force reference materials (cga.ct.gov).
Pages quoted: pdf p.3; pdf p.3; pdf p.22. Claim tags: C6.6~
Cited in: What reduces harm: mediation, case management, education and self-help
HRM-022 A Randomized Controlled Trial of Child-Informed Mediation
Sample, method and reliability
Sample or method: Randomized controlled trial at a university-run mediation clinic: 47 cases in the combined child-focused and child-inclusive conditions versus 22 mediation-as-usual cases (n stated in the abstract); Indiana, US.
Reliability notes: Peer-reviewed; compares forms of mediation, not mediation with litigation. Small sample. The statement about the 2010 meta-analysis is the authors' secondary description; the meta-analysis itself was paywalled and could not be archived, so no finding of it is stated here as verified. Third-party copy of the APA article hosted on aals.org (the PDF states it is for personal use only).
Pages quoted: pdf p.1; pdf p.1; pdf p.1. Claim tags: C6.1~
Cited in: What reduces harm: mediation, case management, education and self-help
HRM-023 Divorce Mediation and Domestic Violence (final report to the National Institute of Justice)
Sample, method and reliability
Sample or method: Mailed survey of 136 administrators of public-sector court divorce mediation programs, 30 telephone interviews, and in-depth study of five court programs; US.
Reliability notes: NIJ-funded but not published by the Department. Program-administrator self-report, old (1990s), explicitly preliminary, and it does not measure outcomes for victims. Establishes practices and gaps, not harm rates.
Pages quoted: pdf p.5; pdf p.10; pdf p.5. Claim tags: C6.1~
Cited in: What reduces harm: mediation, case management, education and self-help
HRM-024 Arizona S.B. 1657 (2026): family court; attorney fees; cap - Senate fact sheet
Sample, method and reliability
Sample or method: n/a: legislative fact sheet for a bill (no empirical data).
Reliability notes: A proposal, and its enactment status was not verified (the bill-tracking page returned 403). It caps fee awards shifted onto a party, not lawyers' fees. Cited only to show that fee-cap proposals exist without an evaluation.
Pages quoted: pdf p.1; pdf p.1. Claim tags: C6.4~
Cited in: What reduces harm: mediation, case management, education and self-help,What the evidence cannot show
-
Sample, method and reliability
Sample or method: n/a: court rule text (recommended time standards; no evaluation data on the page).
Reliability notes: A recommended standard, not a binding cap, and undated on the archived third-party rules page. No outcome evaluation of this or any other family-case time standard was found in this research (see notes).
Pages quoted: section: Rule Text. Claim tags: C6.4~
Cited in: What reduces harm: mediation, case management, education and self-help,What the evidence cannot show
-
Sample, method and reliability
Sample or method: Modelled cost-benefit analysis using calendar-year 2019 data (statewide one-on-one and workshop customers) and expert interviews with five self-help experts; California; one-on-one family-case benefit-to-cost ratio 3.31.
Reliability notes: Government report by the agency that funds and operates the centers. Benefits are assumptions applied to filings, not observed differences in outcomes between assisted and unassisted litigants, and cover time and cost only. Does not isolate family-law outcomes.
Pages quoted: pdf p.7; pdf p.7; pdf p.13. Claim tags: C6.6+ C6.6~
Cited in: What reduces harm: mediation, case management, education and self-help
HRM-029 Nonlawyer Navigators in State Courts: An Emerging Consensus
Sample, method and reliability
Sample or method: Descriptive survey: 23 navigator programs in 15 states and DC, interviews with more than 60 informants; California JusticeCorps pilot of 257 self-represented litigants' filings (25% assisted, 75% not assisted).
Reliability notes: Typed research institute: a university justice-lab landscape report, descriptive and informant-based; its recommendations (e.g. that independent evaluations are needed) are positions, not findings; the authors say they did not systematically collect outcome data. The pilot is a small non-randomized comparison rated by clerks. Not family-law specific (programs cover family, housing, debt and other case types).
Pages quoted: pdf p.5; pdf p.32; pdf p.33. Claim tags: C6.6~
Cited in: What reduces harm: mediation, case management, education and self-help
-
Sample, method and reliability
Sample or method: Court-records follow-up of 168 program parents (159 with records) from filings in 1990-1991 versus 43 control parents from a nearby county without the program, Illinois; relitigation counted from court records; subgroup analyses by self-reported risk.
Reliability notes: Peer-reviewed but old, non-randomized, small control group from a different county; the archived text is OCR of a scan with some garbled passages (quotes taken from clean pages). Subgroup results are exploratory. Relitigation is an indirect measure of coparenting. Third-party copy hosted on a Northeastern University faculty site, not the publisher's.
Pages quoted: pdf p.4; pdf p.8; pdf p.10. Claim tags: C6.5- C6.5~
Cited in: What reduces harm: mediation, case management, education and self-help
HRM-033 International Academy of Collaborative Professionals Practice Survey, All Cases (July 2010)
Sample, method and reliability
Sample or method: Practice study of 933 reported collaborative cases (one entry per case, input by a core professional); US, Canada and UK; July 2010 report; no comparison group in the cited pages.
Reliability notes: Professional-association data entered by the practitioners who sell the service: self-selected, self-reported, no comparison with litigated or mediated cases, and cost figures are not comparable to litigation costs. Archived via Wayback (original URL returned 404). Chart text is interleaved in the plain extraction; the PDF layout confirms 86% completed with a settlement agreement, 11% process terminated, 2% reconciled and 1% other. Component averages sum to more than the total [derived: 20,884 + 3,858 + 4,421 + 1,970 = 31,133 vs $24,185], presumably because each component averages only the cases that used that professional.
Pages quoted: pdf p.4; pdf p.8; pdf p.14. Claim tags: C6.2+ C6.2~
Cited in: What reduces harm: mediation, case management, education and self-help